This blog focuses on issues and solutions to racism, culture, cultural difference(s), and social injustice(s) for Black and Hispanic students as they develop in families, schools, and communities. RACE (Racism, Achievement, Change, Equity) is a forum for exposing injustices, but also sharing stories, examples, practices, ideas, theories, models, and research for change.

Psychology Benefits Society

Fraying rope

By Debra Roberts, PhD (Howard University) and Sherry Molock, PhD (George Washington University)

Several years ago, I was at a national psychological conference presenting several papers.  I was walking through the lobby wearing an Afrocentric mud cloth jacket when a woman came up to me, handed me her tote and asked me to take her luggage to her room.  I remember thinking, “She can’t possibly think I am a staff person at the hotel because of my jacket” but I decided that I would take her luggage to her room. When she tried to tip me, I pointed to my conference badge with the presenter ribbon on it and replied: “Oh, that’s not necessary; you and I are both attending the same conference.”  The woman turned red, profusely apologized and tried to buy me dinner for the remainder of the conference.  – Sherry Molock, PhD

View original post 926 more words

Leave a Reply

